Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Discussion Thread: When You Realized Your Parents Are People, Too
0:00
-1:43

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell

Discussion Thread: When You Realized Your Parents Are People, Too

18

AI Transcription

What was the moment you realized your parents were just people, too, doing their best to get by? Mine came later in life. I never venerated my parents as being perfect or anything, but I did think of them as being full-blown adults. They didn't know everything, but they had all that boring adult world stuff figured out.

Then I got older and I did something really scary. I'm the oldest kid in my family. I was born when my mom was nineteen and my dad was twenty-one. That's what happens when you're out on the farm and only have three channels. My mom turned twenty a few months after that, so figuring out her age is pretty easy mathematically. Even I can do it, yet for some reason, I didn't look back at this equation until much later in life. When I was fourteen and starting high school, my mom was thirty-four. Thirty-four. I thought she was so old. She was basically a child herself.

I say that now as an elderly thirty-seven-year-old statesman and scholar. Okay, both of thos…

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Family comedy one disaster at a time.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Breakwell