Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Chasing (Indoor) Waterfalls
44
Preview
0:00
-1:38

Chasing (Indoor) Waterfalls

Newsletter 2022-02-03
44

I flipped the switch. Instead of the reassuring roar of hidden blades shredding unspeakable waste in the dark, I was greeted by silence. Not good. Following my tried and true methods of problem solving, I flipped the switch several more times. Surely doing the same thing over and over again would yield different results. The garbage disposal appeared to be completely dead. Worse, the drain was also clogged, but with what? It wasn’t like I was shoving bones down there. This was a kitchen sink, not a rancor pit. (Fair warning: My Star Wars references are going to become more and more esoteric until the number of people who gets them falls to zero.) All I’d dumped down there was water with a few microscopic bits of Italian beef mixed in. I’d eaten anything large enough to be seen by the human eye. I was a little hungry. We’d been playing board games all day with two other couples, and now I just wanted to clean up the last of the food and go to bed. Instead, I was greeted with a plumbing crisis that made our kitchen unusable and would, unbeknownst to me, send water to all sorts of damaging and expensive places. But that was all still in the future. First, I had to make a much more dangerous and short-sighted move.

Reluctantly, I reached my hand into the garbage disposal.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Family comedy one disaster at a time.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Breakwell