Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Discussion Thread: Did You Hate Where You Grew Up?
0:00
-2:41

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell

Discussion Thread: Did You Hate Where You Grew Up?

138

My twelve-year-old did something interesting the other day. Actually, there's a pattern of it developing. She made a negative comment about where we live. We found an abandoned bike that had likely been stolen, and I commented we'd need to turn it over to the police. And she said something about what a great place we live in.

She says that when kids fight at school. She says that when there's traffic. She's just in general down on this suburb, and that hurts me. I live here by choice. My wife and I could have lived in any part of Indianapolis and we picked right here.

My wife and I both lived a bunch of different places growing up. One of the places I lived, we got robbed the first time we went back home to visit family. There was a shooting by my mom's work. The house where my parents live now, the house next to it just recently got robbed. Like, there's serious crime issues. Compared to that, the place we live now is paradise.

The thing is, my twelve-year-old doesn't know that. I don't…

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Family comedy one disaster at a time.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Breakwell