Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Discussion Thread: Do You Like to be Scared?
0:00
-1:43

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell

Discussion Thread: Do You Like to be Scared?

35

AI Transcription

Do you like to be scared? Believe it or not, there are a lot of people who do. My children are not among them. They thought the haunted house would be great fun, but as you know from reading the newsletter yesterday, that's not quite how it turned out. It wasn't so much fun as it was traumatic for life.

For other people, though, that would've been an ideal weekend. Fear is designed to keep us alive. It activates when you're some place you shouldn't be or doing something you should probably stop. I guess for some people it just feels good to be bad. They live on that rush of adrenaline.

I go through these things, but only to prove I can handle them. Apparently, I'm very insecure. I go on roller coasters and they don't bother me, but at the same time, I brace myself. I don't indulge the fear. In fact, I work hard to calm myself down so I'm not. Same thing with the haunted house. Every time there could have been a jump scare, I was anticipating what was going to happen. Par…

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Family comedy one disaster at a time.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Breakwell