Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Discussion Thread: How Far Will You Drive for a Favor?
0:00
-2:59

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell

Discussion Thread: How Far Will You Drive for a Favor?

26

AI Transcription

What's the furthest you’ll drive to do a favor for somebody? My range has definitely been going down over the years. When I was younger and my back was better, I would drive across multiple states to help a friend move. Now, not so much. A few days ago, somebody new rented the house next door, and I made it a point not to introduce myself to them until they were done carrying in all their stuff. I can't imagine anything worse than being asked to help.

I'll still drive a half an hour to pick up somebody from the airport if they fly in. There's really no other way to get out to my suburb. But if you're leaving from here and you already have a car of your own, just pay for airport parking. We're adults now. What else is money for, if not to absolve your friends and acquaintances from the obligation of carrying you to mass transportation?

But recently my favor range was called into question, and I felt terrible about it. My sister, who recently graduated from law school and …

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Family comedy one disaster at a time.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Breakwell