Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Friday Thoughts: Sleep Somewhere Else
0:00
-4:09

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell

Friday Thoughts: Sleep Somewhere Else

22

AI Transcription of Audio File

My 12-year-old made an unreasonable request this week. She asked if her friend could come over and spend the night. I know, I know if you're a parent, you just reacted with instant horror like I did, or maybe you're a well adjusted normal parent and you didn't care at all. Perhaps you let your kids have sleepovers all the time.

I don't know, but for me, that is a definite deal breaker. My kids can go have sleepovers at other people's houses anytime they want. In fact, my 12-year-old will go over to her best friend's house sometimes for an entire weekend. And I think that is spectacular. But other kids coming over here? I don't know, we've already got four children in the house and there's just a barely managed level of chaos and adding one more kid to that equation disrupts the entire local ecosystem because whoever has a friend, usually it's one of the older two girls.

And then the younger two girls want to hang out …

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Family comedy one disaster at a time.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Breakwell