Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
I Caused A Marriage
11
Preview
0:00
-1:13

I Caused A Marriage

Newsletter 2022-11-11
11

There’s an idea in philosophy that a butterfly flapping its wings can cause a tornado on the other side of the world. I specified “philosophy” because there are no professors of meteorology teaching students to take butterflies into account. If pretty bugs really caused adverse weather events, we could eliminate Tornado Alley by passing out flyswatters. But sometimes, a minor event really can have massive, life-changing consequences you never intended. This time, I was the butterfly who created a cyclone, which is different from my usual role as the inconsequential one splattered on somebody’s windshield. I caused two people to get married before I met either one of them. If it wasn’t for an act of selfish desperation on my part fourteen years ago, they never would have gotten together. I accidentally gave them their happily ever after, but first, I equally inadvertently almost destroyed one of their lives. This story is a wild ride.

To explain it, I have to do something I swore I would never, ever do on the internet: I’m going to talk about my day job.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Family comedy one disaster at a time.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Breakwell