Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
The Parallel Universe
0:00
-13:50

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell

The Parallel Universe

Newsletter 2022-06-30
7

The road not taken. Ripples from a parallel universe. There but for the grace of God go I.

Call it whatever you want, but there are moments where we catch a glimpse of what could have been if we had made slightly less terrible choices at a critical juncture in our lives. As a general rule, I assume any decision I’ve made was the wrong one. I might not know all possible outcomes of every available option, but I know myself. With me, it’s always safe to assume the worst. Until now, though, that notion was based on nothing but my all-encompassing sense of pessimism, which, in my defense, is almost always right. But recently, I was able to base that conclusion on cold, hard science. I found a control group for my entire existence. My wife Lola and I know another couple that’s like us in almost every way, except for one. When faced with the same crucial, life-altering decision, we balked, while they went full speed ahead. Now, I have an idea of how everything would have turned out if I wasn’t a coward. This is a message from the other side.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Family comedy one disaster at a time.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Breakwell