Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Webcomic: STEM Roots
0:00
-2:36

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell

Webcomic: STEM Roots

22

AI Transcription

This comic is true mostly. My fifth grader, Mae, really did ask me to teach her calculus, and it really is all my wife's fault. My kid certainly did not get her love for math from me. I hated math. Of course, I hated every subject and school in general. I don't like being evaluated, and I especially don't like being wrong.

Math is the ultimate expression of wrong. It makes sense. If you're calculating the trajectory of a rocket, it either explodes or it doesn't. I live in a much squishier, touchy-feely world. It's a world filled with subjective evaluations where no one can ever truly be right or wrong. That's what it truly means to major in the liberal arts. It means you specialize in something where if you BS enough, you can probably talk your way into a passing grade. Math, as I understand it, doesn't work that way, especially not at the college level. I picked a college solely because it would let me major in English and history without ever again taking a math class.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Family comedy one disaster at a time.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Breakwell