Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Webcomic: The Giver
0:00
-2:07

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell

Webcomic: The Giver

21

AI Transcription

My kids love buying gifts for me and they love using my money to do it. They just came home with permission slips and envelopes so that they could shop at Santa's workshop, a program their school runs where they can buy knick knacks gifts for loved ones. Most of the stuff runs for a dollar or a dollar twenty-five. There's some value to be had there. They pick up interesting screwdrivers or laser pointers, things of that nature. Nothing that's going to last forever. You don't get lifelong family heirlooms off the dollar menu.

But now I have to go to the bank to get cash, something I never have on hand so I can distribute $6 to each of my children. Then they can go to this workshop and buy cheap things made in China and come back with them for me to stick in a drawer until next year. I get that. It's the thought that counts. And my kids certainly love the process. I'm not sure if they love buying gifts for me or if they just love buying in general. We don't have all that …

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell
Exploding Unicorn by James Breakwell Podcast
Family comedy one disaster at a time.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Breakwell